Withdrawing from the University


I have registered for graduation with my faculty. Will I automatically be withdrawn from the university after I graduate?

No. Withdrawal from the university is carried out by the Student Administration Office and must be requested separately via “My Requests” in the student portal. Graduation must be registered with your faculty.

What happens to the modules I’ve already booked for the coming semester if I withdraw from the university?

Modules already booked for the coming semester and the related examination procedures will automatically be canceled by the University of Zurich if you withdraw from the university. Information about the reimbursement of semester fees can be found on the website Withdrawing from the University, under "Reimbursement of Semester Fees."

I have received the semester invoice for the next semester, but I am considering withdrawing from the university at the end of this semester. Should I still pay the invoice I received in the event I continue my studies?

No, you do not immediately have to pay the invoice you received. The deadlines for paying the invoice for semester fees are 31 July for the Fall Semester and 31 January for the Spring Semester. You will receive a payment reminder from the Student Administration Office in mid-August for the Fall Semester and mid-February for the Spring Semester.

Please note that you will not receive proof of matriculation for the new semester, and you will not be able to book modules or validate your UZH Card until you have paid the semester invoice. Information about activating these services can be found on the website Enrollment under "Activating Booking Modules, Validation of the UZH Card, Mailing of Proof-of-Matriculation Vouchers."

Information about the reimbursement of semester fees in the event you subsequently withdraw from the university can be found on the website Withdrawing from the University. Please note the deadlines.

How long will the login data for University of Zurich online services (OLAT, UZH e-mail, etc.) remain valid after withdrawal from the university?

You will continue to have access to the University of Zurich’s online services for about four months.

Exmatrikulation


Ich habe mich für den Studienabschluss bei meiner Fakultät angemeldet. Werde ich damit auch automatisch exmatrikuliert nach dem Abschluss?

Nein. Die Exmatrikulation wird von der Kanzlei vorgenommen und muss separat über "Meine Anträge" im Studierendenportal beantragt werden. Der Studienabschluss wird bei der Fakultät beantragt.

Was passiert mit bereits für das kommende Semester gebuchten Modulen, wenn ich mich exmatrikuliere?

Bereits für das kommende Semester gebuchte Module und die zugehörigen Prüfungsverfahren werden automatisch durch die UZH storniert, wenn Sie sich exmatrikulieren. Informationen zur Rückerstattung der Semestergebühren finden Sie auf der Webseite Exmatrikulation, Kap. "Rückerstattung der Semestergebühren".

Ich habe die Semesterrechnung für das nächste Semester erhalten, erwäge jedoch die Exmatrikulation per Ende dieses Semesters. Soll ich die erhaltene Rechnung trotzdem bereits begleichen, für den Fall, dass ich weiterstudiere?

Nein, Sie müssen die erhaltene Rechnung nicht sofort begleichen. Die Zahlungsfristen für die Begleichung der Rechnung über die Semestergebühren sind der 31.07. für das Herbstsemester bzw. der 31.01. für das Frühjahrssemester. Mitte August bzw. Mitte Februar erhalten Sie von der Kanzlei eine Zahlungserinnerung.

Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie für das neue Semester keine Studienbescheinigungen erhalten und weder Module buchen noch die UZH Card validieren können, solange Sie die Semesterrechnung nicht beglichen haben. Informationen zur Freischaltung dieser Dienstleistungen finden Sie auf der Webseite Einschreibung unter "Freischaltung Modulbuchung, Validierung UZH Card, Versand Studienbescheinigungen".

Hinweise zur Rückerstattung der Semestergebühren bei nachträglicher Exmatrikulation finden Sie auf der Webseite Exmatrikulation. Beachten Sie bitte die Fristen.

Wie lange sind die Zugangsdaten zu den Onlinediensten der UZH (OLAT, UZH E-Mail etc.) nach der Exmatrikulation noch gültig?

Sie haben noch während ca. vier Monaten Zugriff auf die Onlinedienste der UZH.