Semester Enrollment


I would like to move from a Bachelor’s to a Master’s program (or from a Master’s program to doctoral studies, or to the teaching diploma program after having completed a Master’s degree). What do I need to do?

You have to change your degree program, and you have to register for graduation with a Bachelor’s or Master’s degree with the faculty.

Please note the information on changing the degree program on the corresponding website. Information on registration for graduation can be found on the websites of the respective faculty.

I will be completing my studies at the end of the semester. Should I keep the enrollment that was prepared automatically for the next semester in case I do not pass the examinations?

Yes. You can keep your enrollment pending for the time being. After you have received the results of your examinations and have successfully completed your studies, please request withdrawal from the university. Please note the deadlines. The enrollment and the invoice for semester fees will then be canceled by the University of Zurich’s Student Administration Office.

If you do not pass your examinations, please immediately pay the semester invoice in order to remain enrolled.

I have been excluded from my major or minor study program. The enrollment is now showing up as an error in the student portal even though I’ve paid the semester fees.

Active subject bans prevent semester enrollment. For this reason, you must complete a change of study programs for the relevant study program prior to the deadline if you want to remain enrolled at the University of Zurich. Otherwise, the University of Zurich will withdraw you from the university at the end of the semester and refund your semester fees (less a processing fee (PDF, 116 KB)).

I have submitted my doctoral thesis and registered to defend it. Do I need to enroll again?

Yes. You must remain enrolled, but you can request a leave of absence during the publication phase of your doctoral thesis. Please see the information on the website Leave of Absence under "Leave During the Publication Phase of the Doctoral Thesis."

In your final semester, when your doctoral degree is issued by the University of Zurich’s Student Services, you must once again be enrolled as a regular student and may not be on leave.

Semestereinschreibung


Ich möchte vom Bachelor- ins Masterstudium (resp. vom Master- ins Doktoratsstudium oder nach Abschluss des Masterstudiums zum Lehrdiplom für Maturitätsschulen) übertreten. Wie muss ich vorgehen?

Sie müssen einerseits einen Studiengangswechsel vornehmen, andererseits den Bachelor- oder Masterabschluss bei der Fakultät anmelden.

Beachten Sie bitte die Informationen zum Studiengangs- und Studienprogrammwechsel auf der entsprechenden Webseite. Informationen zur Anmeldung zum Studienabschluss finden Sie auf den Webseiten der jeweiligen Fakultät.

Ich schliesse Ende Semester mein Studium ab. Soll ich die automatisch vorbereitete Einschreibung für das nächste Semester beibehalten, falls ich die Prüfungen nicht bestehe?

Ja. Sie können die Einschreibung zunächst pendent lassen. Sobald Sie die Prüfungsresultate erhalten und Ihr Studium erfolgreich beendet haben, beantragen Sie bitte die Exmatrikulation. Bitte beachten Sie die Fristen. Die Einschreibung und die Rechnung über die Semestergebühren werden dann von der Kanzlei der UZH storniert.

Bei Prüfungsmisserfolg begleichen Sie bitte umgehend die Semesterrechnung, damit Sie weiterhin eingeschrieben bleiben.

Ich bin von meinem Major- resp. Minor-Studienprogramm ausgeschlossen worden. Die Einschreibung wird nun im Studierendenportal trotz Bezahlung der Semestergebühren als "fehlerhaft" angezeigt.

Aktive Fachsperren blockieren die Semestereinschreibung. Nehmen Sie deshalb für das betroffene Studienprogramm innerhalb der Frist einen Studienprogrammwechsel vor, falls Sie weiterhin an der UZH eingeschrieben bleiben möchten. Andernfalls wird die UZH Sie zum Semesterende exmatrikulieren und die Semestergebühren (abzüglich einer Bearbeitungsgebühr (PDF, 54 KB)) zurückerstatten.

Ich habe meine Dissertation eingereicht und mich zur Verteidigung angemeldet. Muss ich mich nochmals einschreiben?

Ja. Sie müssen weiterhin eingeschrieben bleiben, können während der Publikationsphase der Dissertation jedoch Urlaub beantragen. Beachten Sie bitte die Angaben hierzu auf der Webseite Urlaub unter "Urlaub während der Publikationsphase der Dissertation".

Im Abschlusssemester, in dem Ihre Promotionsurkunde vom Diplombüro der UZH ausgestellt wird, benötigen Sie wieder eine reguläre Einschreibung und dürfen nicht beurlaubt sein.